Technical Articles

What is the difference between IEC 60950 and 60335?

IEC 60950 and 60335 are both safety standards developed by the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) but are meant for different types of products.

IEC 60950 is the safety standard for information technology equipment (ITE). It applies to a wide range of ITE products such as computers, printers, and routers. The standard specifies safety requirements on a product's design, construction, and materials. It also outlines guidelines for maintenance, testing, and inspection, to ensure the safe and reliable operation of ITE equipment.

On the other hand, IEC 60335 is the safety standard for household and similar electrical appliances. The standard specifies safety requirements for small and large household appliances such as washing machines, refrigerators, and microwaves. The standard covers different aspects such as insulation, mechanical strength, heating, moving parts, and more. IEC 60335 is further divided into various standards applicable to specific types of household appliances.

In summary, the main difference between IEC 60950 and 60335 is the products they cover. While IEC 60950 is specific to information technology equipment, IEC 60335 applies to household and similar electrical appliances. Both standards aim to ensure user safety and the reliable operation of the products, but their requirements and focus on safety aspect differ accordingly.

To further elaborate, IEC 60950 applies to a wide range of ITE products, including those with AC inputs up to 600 volts, DC inputs up to 1000 volts, and those based on semiconductor technology. The standard has evolved over the years to include newer ITE products such as smartphones, tablets, and other mobile devices.

In contrast, IEC 60335 is a complex standard that covers a wide range of household appliances. The standardAdditionally, ITo elaborate further, IEC 60950 emphasizes safe operation and design of ITE, including protection from electrical hazards, fire hazards, mechanical hazards, and radiation hazards. The standard also covers health and environmental hazards, such as the use of hazardous substances like lead, mercury, and cadmium.

In contrast, IEC 60335 addresses various safety concerns of household appliances, including mechanical hazards, electric shock, thermal hazards, fire hazards, and cord hazards. The standard focuses on product design, construction, and testing, from the perspective of the end-user. It also defines specific technical requirements to help manufacturers comply with safety regulations and produce safe appliances.

Both IEC 60950 and 60335 are internationally recognized standards and are compulsory in most countries. Manufacturers must comply with these standards to ensure the safety and reliability of their products. Testing and compliance with these standards give manufacturers a competitive edge in the market by providing greater confidence to customers and regulators alike in the safety and reliability of their products.

In conclusion, while both standards aim to ensure the safety of different types of products, they are unique in their requirements and focus areas. Manufacturers must carefully consider and adhere to these standards to build safe and reliable products that meet both customer expectations and regulatory requirements.



Contact: Eason Wang

Phone: +86-13751010017


Add: 1F Junfeng Building, Gongle, Xixiang, Baoan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

Scan the qr codeclose
the qr code